Blog Tour: Off the Ice by Julie Cross – {Review + Giveaway}

Posted March 15, 2017 in blog tour, featured posts / 0 Comments

Blog Tour:  Off the Ice by Julie Cross - {Review + Giveaway}

Blog Tour:  Off the Ice by Julie Cross – {Review + Giveaway}Off the Ice (Juniper Falls, #1) by Julie Cross
Published by Entangled: Teen on February 28th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Family, New Adult, Sports Romance, Violence & Abuse, Young Adult
Pages: 370
Format: eBook, Paperback

ISBN: 1633756556
Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | IndieBound | Books-A-Million | iBooks | Google Play | Chapters | Kobo
Goodreads

The NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of Whatever Life Throws at You kicks off a brand-new series perfect for fans of Miranda Kennealy and Abbi Glines.

All is fair in love and hockey…

Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.

Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.

It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.

For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.

Congrats to Julie Cross on her new release, Off the Ice!  I am so excited to be part of the Off the Ice blog tour, hosted by Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours, and share my review with you.

Review

Off the Ice (Juniper Falls #1) by Julie Cross is a YA contemporary sports romance that is completely heart-felt and emotional. Reading Ms. Cross’ novel for me was like watching a mixed episode of One Tree Hill and Dawson’s Creek.

Tate Tanley and Claire O’Connor, have known each other through childhood. On the eve before Claire leaves for college on a music scholarship they share a moment together. A year passes when Claire returns home to Juniper Falls to take care of her father and to help out in running her family’s bar. Upon her return, she realizes the boy she left behind is no longer the same. Attraction flares between them as a romance and love begins to bloom amidst family dramas, small-town drama, and of course, hockey.

I really enjoyed Off the Ice. It was a little slow to start when Tate and Claire are reunited after a year, and I didn’t really like the drama with Haley too much at first (Tate’s ex-girlfriend), but neither lessened my overall enjoyment, especially once the story began to pick up.

Tate and Claire were strong main characters with endearing personalities. They both had their dreams, their own struggles to deal with and I loved when they each supported the other and both didn’t hold back from going for their dreams in the end. I also liked the supporting characters like Tate’s stepfather, Roger, and Claire’s parents, as well as, Tate’s friends like Leo, Jamie, and Mike. All brought life to the story and helped add a little bit more emotion or humor.

Overall, Off the Ice by Julie Cross was an enjoyable novel that kept me interested from start to finish. I very much recommend and can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

(I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book I received from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my open and honest review.)

Giveaway

Hosted by Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Julie Cross

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin's Press). She's also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.