Blog Tour: Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2) by Julie Cross – {Review}

Posted January 4, 2018 in blog tour, Review, reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour:  Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2) by Julie Cross  –  {Review}Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls, #2) by Julie Cross
Published by Entangled: Teen on December 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Sports, Young Adult
Pages: 300
Format: eBook, Paperback

ISBN: 1633758982
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU
Goodreads

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

 

Congrats to Julie Cross on your new release, Breaking the Ice!  (Released December 26, 2017). 

Today, we are excited to be part of the Breaking the Ice Blog Tour, hosted by Chapter by Chapter, and to share our review for this contemporary YA novel about about small towns, hockey, and opposites attracting.  Enjoy! 

Divider

Review

Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross is book two in her Juniper Falls series, though it can be read as a standalone. It is a contemporary young adult novel about small towns, hockey, and opposites attracting.

This novel features Hayley Stevenson (Tate’s ex from book one, Off the Ice), who is taking Civics during summer school to improve her grade, and the boy she convinces to be her civics project partner, Fletcher Scott, is a nerdy, yet mysterious, boy that Hayley can’t help but want to figure out even though she’s sworn off boys until college since her last relationship ended.

Fletcher Scott wants to remain out of the limelight especially because of his family’s past and his current moonlighting gig. Helping his family on the farm, staying ahead in his studies, and trying to convince the ice hockey coach he’s good enough for varsity, despite his allergies and asthma, has all his attention. He has no time for relationships, nor does he want one. But after spending time with Hayley he soon finds himself changing his stance on his no relationship policy. Will these two unlikely partners find more than what they anticipated?

Julie Cross’s Breaking the Ice is a great continuation to her Juniper Falls series with returning characters from her previous book making an appearance. Not only do they show up, they also play a part in the storyline that I didn’t see coming and found interesting.

Hayley and Fletcher are very likable characters. Their interaction is endearing though sometimes frustrating with their back and forth hesitancy, while their chemistry is off the charts. Fletcher and Hayley seem completely different, but they mesh so well together. Fletcher, who seems older than his years, especially because of his experiences, compliments Hayley, who is completely social and a planner, but not as put together as she appears. They bring out aspects about each other that make each of them better. I also appreciated how Julie Cross’s story included important subjects like bullying, learning disabilities, and living with severe/life threatening allergies. My only issue was that it seemed to end abruptly and I wanted more of a resolution or an epilogue. Hopefully, we’ll get to see Hayley and Fletcher in future books because I’d love to know what happens next.

Overall, Breaking the Ice by Julie Cross was an enjoyable story that I happily recommend. With both old and new characters, it was great to return back to Juniper Falls. I look forward to reading more by this author.

 

About Julie Cross

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin's Press). She's also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.