Review and Excerpt Tour: The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young

Posted June 30, 2018 in blog tour, Excerpt, Review / 0 Comments

 

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Impossible Vastness of Us and the On Dublin Street series comes a heartfelt and beautiful new young adult novel, set in Scotland, about daring to dream and embracing who you are. Order your copy of THE FRAGILE ORDINARY today!

 

Review and Excerpt Tour:  The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha YoungThe Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young
Published by Harlequin Teen on June 26, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: Audiobook, eBook, Hardcover

ISBN: 1335016740
Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | iBooks | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads

I voluntarily reviewed an advance review copy of this book I received for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my open and honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From New York Times bestselling author Samantha Young comes a riveting new contemporary YA tale set in the author's homeland of Scotland, about an American boy in need of a fresh start and a Scottish girl who believes in second chances—perfect for fans of Julie Buxbaum, Stephanie Perkins and Jenna Evans Welch.

Tobias King has it all. He's a straight-A student, youngest starting quarterback at his high school in a decade, dating the head cheerleader and has more friends than he knows what to do with. But his world is shattered when the father he reveres dies in a car crash--alongside the girlfriend Tobias never suspected his father had. Distraught and reeling from betrayal, Tobias's mother uproots them from their comfortable life in Chicago to live near family in Edinburgh, Scotland, hoping for a fresh start. But Tobias quickly finds himself falling in with a troubled crowd at school. Even when he's paired in English class with quiet, shy, artsy Comet Caldwell, and discovers the first real female friend he's ever had, he can't seem to stop his life from spiraling out of control. But can Comet, who's used to living life unnoticed by her peers, find the courage to speak up to save Tobias from a path he'll regret forever?


“Endearing and relatable, Comet-the girl who is searching for her place in this world-will shoot through the sky and into your heart.”

— #1 New York Times bestselling author Erin Watt


Excerpt

As much as I was desperate to see Tobias and afraid to at the same time, I’d like to think I’m not that self-absorbed. I did offer to spend the rest of the day with Vicki, not wanting to leave her alone when she was feeling so down about her parents’ separation, but she insisted she had a ton of work to do for the show.

I knew the show meant a lot to her and Steph but I was kind of glad it would be over soon. It had stolen all their time, and yes, as petty as it may seem, I was jealous it had brought the two of them closer together.

Nerves returned with a vengeance as I made my way to the esplanade. Not only was I jittery over my confusing conversation with Vicki about what it was Tobias wanted from me, but I was tense over meeting up with Stevie. We were basically about to hand him an ultimatum, and ultimatums usually didn’t turn out well.

As soon as I saw Tobias standing outside the Espy my heart started to pound, my pulse thrumming hard in my neck. He turned and caught sight of me and began to stride up the street toward me. His pace quickened and he seemed so determined my knees quavered a little.

When he reached me I opened my mouth to say hello, but the greeting died on my lips as he cupped my face in his warm hands and bowed his head to kiss me.

Shock, thrill, fear, want, all mixed inside of me as I closed my eyes and clung to his arms. His lips were soft, coaxing, brushing against mine, teasing me. Heat flashed through my body from the tips of my toes to my cheeks, and I leaned in, looking for something beyond even this. This felt nothing like Ethan’s kiss.

It was lovely…and yet…I wanted more.

Tobias drew his lips from mine ever so slightly and murmured against them, “Open your mouth.”

I flushed even hotter at the command but did so without hesitation. When his mouth returned to my mouth he touched his tongue to mine, just a flick, a torment that made me whimper in confusion. Everything within me seemed to tighten, coiling into an increasing tension as his tongue danced more forcefully with mine. It was a dance I easily followed, kissing him back with more fervor, my fingers digging into his arms.

This was the more I’d been waiting for.

This was everything.

He broke the kiss, gasping my name against my lips.

I blinked, discombobulated. My whole body hummed with an urgency I’d never felt before.

Tobias leaned his forehead against mine as we sought to catch our breaths and equilibrium. “I should have done that last night,” he finally whispered.

Relieved laughter bubbled out of me in giggles that made him smile with such affection that I wondered how I could have possibly doubted his feelings for me. Tobias King liked me. Me. Comet Caldwell. If someone as special as Tobias could like me so well, maybe I was a little bit special, too?

 

Divider

Review

The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young is the story of Comet Caldwell who has her nose in her books and her poetry. First off the inclusion of Comet’s poetry in the book adds nice bits to it that make the book more special and helps really set the tone and the character. When Tobias King, a student from American comes to her Edinburgh High School it shakes things up. Comet and Tobias are not ones that should typically be in each other’s circles, but a friendship develops that just continues to grow.

Both of these characters had issues that drove them in different directions but somehow they connect. There is a lot that resonates about Comet, the shyness, the living in her books, the being unsure of the typical high school social norms. Comet gives you a reminder of what that’s like, while Tobias is the person driven the other way.

Overall, The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young was an intriguing book and one that will make you think.

Divider

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Divider

Samantha Young’s’ THE FRAGILE ORDINARY – Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

June 25th

A Book Nerd, a Bookseller and a Bibliophile – Review & Excerpt

Book Freak – Review

For The Love of Fictional Worlds – Review & Excerpt

Garden of REden – Review

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

The Book Boyfriend Addict – Excerpt

June 26th

Blog of Books – Review

Bookalicious Babes Blog – Review & Excerpt

Kick Back & Review – Review & Excerpt

liber_lady – Review

Miss Riki – Review & Excerpt

Read more sleep less – Review & Excerpt

White Hot Reads – Review

June 27th

A Literary Perusal – Review & Excerpt

Book Bitches Blog – Review

Kindle Friends Forever – Excerpt

LoveFades – Review

MrsLeif’s Two Fangs About It Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Smut Book Junkie Reviews – Review & Excerpt

June 28th

A British Bookworm’s Blog – Review

bad boys and bedtime stories book blog – Review & Excerpt

Catty Jane Book Lovers – Review & Excerpt

Novel Addiction – Review & Excerpt

the lovely teacher addictions – Review & Excerpt

Smokin’ Hot Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

The Reading Faery – Review & Excerpt

June 29th

Ali’s Reviews and More – Review & Excerpt

Bookish Proclivity – Review & Excerpt

Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic – Review & Excerpt

Ficwishes – Review & Excerpt

Read Love Blog – Review & Excerpt

The Bookish Sisters – Review & Excerpt

June 30th

Lisa Loves Literature – Review & Excerpt

Movies, Shows, & Books – Excerpt

Nose Stuck in a Book – Review & Excerpt

Pervy Ladies Books – Review & Excerpt

Read. Eat. Love. – Review & Excerpt

The Escapist Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

July 1st

Crazy Chaotic Book Babes – Review

KDRBCK – Review & Excerpt

Once Upon A Page – Review & Excerpt

Reading with 2 book lovers – Review

The Coffeeholic Bookworm – Review & Excerpt

The Wandering Bookaholic – Review

July 2nd

Alpha Book Club – Review

Book Babes Unite – Review

Crazii Bitches Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Naturally Nerdy Books – Excerpt

Rad Babes Read – Review & Excerpt

Spellbound Stories – Review

The Book Dutchesses – Review & Excerpt

July 3rd

Adventures in Writing – Excerpt

Book Lovers Hangout – Review & Excerpt

gata leitora – Review & Excerpt

KM Sultry Reads – Review & Excerpt

Relentless Romance – Review & Excerpt

Sweet Red Reads – Review & Excerpt

July 4th

Bookaholic Confessions – Review & Excerpt

Margaux – Excerpt

Obsessive Book Nerd – Review

Sofia Loves Books – Review

Sultry Sirens Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Review & Excerpt

What Is That Book About – Excerpt

July 5th

After Dark Book Lovers – Review & Excerpt

Book Lady’s Reviews – Review

Literary Misfit – Excerpt

More Books Than Livros – Review & Excerpt

Ramblings From This Chick – Excerpt

Romance Book Explosion – Review

July 6th

Audio Killed the Bookmark – Review

Liezel and Angie’s Book Blog – Review

mustreadbooksordie – Review & Excerpt

Romance Schmomance – Review & Excerpt

Sentranced Jem – Review

The Bookish Introvert – Review

Witchy Richey’s Booktastic Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Divider

About Samantha Young

Samantha Young is the New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of adult contemporary romances, including the On Dublin Street series and Hero, as well as the New Adult duology Into the Deep and Out of the Shallows. Every Little Thing, the second book in her new Hart’s Boardwalk series, will be published by Berkley in March 2017. Before turning to contemporary fiction, she wrote several young adult paranormal and fantasy series, including the amazon bestselling Tale of Lunarmorte trilogy. Samantha’s debut YA contemporary novel The Impossible Vastness of Us will be published by Harlequin TEEN in ebook & hardback June 2017

Samantha has been nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award 2012 for Best Author and Best Romance for On Dublin Street, Best Romance 2014 for Before Jamaica Lane, and Best Romance 2015 for Hero. On Dublin Street, a #1 bestseller in Germany, was the Bronze Award Winner in the LeserPreis German Readers Choice Awards for Best Romance 2013, Before Jamaica Lane the Gold Medal Winner for the LeserPreis German Readers Choice Awards for Best Romance 2014 and Echoes of Scotland Street the Bronze Medal Winner for the LeserPreis German Readers Choice Awards for Best Romance 2015.

Samantha is currently published in 30 countries and is a #1 international bestselling author.

 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.